A District Denouement

My life in D.C. has finally come to a close. It wasn’t a terrible place to live; I just know it’s not a long term place for me. There were beautiful places and moments in these two years that I’m grateful to have experienced.

In our nation’s capital, you would think my favorite place would be in a museum or national monument.  No, my favorite place was a train station.  Union Station.  There was just something about it that was so beautiful and grand. It filled me with awe every time I stepped inside.  (which was a lot since it was the closest station to my house)
Union StationAnother quietly beautiful place is this corridor as you exit the federal triangle metro, I love it.


Below is the housing and urban development building.
It was both ugly and interesting to me.image
This view can be found at Arlington cemetery.
I wasn’t prepared for the unending hills of graves.  It is very humbling.image

 

 

Another peek inside Union Station, because it’s wonderful.image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is inside Capitol Hill Books in eastern market.  I loved coming here to read the snarky descriptions of certain books by the owner.  I never left here with less than five books.
Capitol Hill Books
My favorite shot of Union Station.image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is inside DCA,  the main airport.  I spent a lot of time here too.  I may have technically lived in DC for two years, but I didn’t stay put very long.

DCA

  • Definitely explore H street NE.
  • Go to the Queen Vic and get a Scottish Bellhaven ale.  It’s the most delicious beer you’ll taste tonight.
  • You could also get a Chai at Sidamo.
  • Better yet, get a ramen bowl at Toki Underground.
  • If you head downtown however,  Chinatown has Daikaya.  Incredible ramen bowls downstairs,  great beer & food upstairs.
  • Kayak on the Potomac and listen to jazz at the Navy Yard on the water.
  • Buy an 8 dollar ticket and ride your bike to a Washington Nationals game. (free bike parking!)
  • And last but not least, go to my second favorite place in the city,  Landmark E Street theater. Pick an Independent film, talk to the great people who work there , order a cold beer and some twizzlers and treat yourself to a movie date with you.

Leave a comment